Pause


This morning was a rare experience in the life of our family. 

We all sat on the couch watching cartoons at 8am on a Monday morning, whilst sipping warm coffee and snuggling under and on top of copious amounts of pillows and blankets.

Our usual fast paced lives took a breather and put itself in neutral… for a bit.

My husband has the day off, due to forced leave from work (motivated by the struggling financial status of our automotive industry), which meant a slower start to our morning. Even though I still had to get ready for work and leave the house just before 9, we could steal a moment of pajama-clad happiness with the kids.

It made me realize how scarce these moments are in our life. We’re always hustling and bustling from one thing to the next. 

Sometimes I get to sit on the couch with the kids, while hubby is off to work… Or do I? 

If I have to be honest, I would often choose to rather fill those moments with excuses of things that need to be done. 

Why?

What am I teaching my children about priorities?

About family and love?

About time?

About rest.

Even though a disheartening situation at work lead to this moment, it was good. 

It was good for my husband’s soul to have a moment of quiet. 

It was good for me to be reminded that this should happen more often than we currently allow. I set the pace after-all.

It was good for our children to see us choosing rest.

Because rest isn’t just a choice, it’s a command…

…but the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work, neither you, nor your son or daughter, nor your male or female servant, nor your animals, nor any foreigner residing in your towns. – Exodus 20:10

Lord please help me remember the importance of resting in You.

